The White Rose Tribute Event

The White Rose Tribute Event, organized annually by the Holocaust Memorial Resource and Education Center of Florida, marks its 36th year celebrating visionary leaders who exemplify inclusivity in Central Florida. Named after the center’s founder, the Tess Wise White Rose Award honors the legacy of The White Rose, a non-violent resistance group against Nazi tyranny during World War II, by recognizing community members who actively promote a more inclusive and respectful society. The event not only commemorates individuals and organizations for their contributions towards education, arts, culture, and community service but also supports the Holocaust Center’s educational initiatives, aiming to inspire students across all ages with unique cultural learning opportunities.

The 36th Annual White Rose Tribute Event

The White Rose Tribute event will be held on April 11th at the Orlando Museum of Art (6pm to 8pm), honoring Jonathan and Nancy Wolf. Please join us in elevating our mission of using the history and lessons of the Holocaust to build a just and caring community free of antisemitism and all forms of prejudice and bigotry. This inspiring evening will feature a commemorative program, culinary treats, local wines and an exclusive update on the NEW Holocaust Museum for Hope and Humanity.

History of The White Rose

The White Rose Award reminds us of the actions of a group of courageous students in Germany during WWII. Calling for non-violent resistance against Hitler and the Nazis, the group consisted of five students in their early twenties led by Hans and Sophie Scholl. They worked day and night to create flyers criticizing Germans who did nothing to combat the tyranny of the Third Reich. The individuals honored with this award by the Holocaust Center are active and vocal members of our community. Like The White Rose, it is their belief that only through participation can we build a better home for all Central Floridians. The values of inclusiveness and respect are central to their efforts.

About Jonathan and Nancy Wolf

Jonathan and Nancy Wolf are deserving recipients of the Tess Wise White Rose Award, given their dedicated support and advocacy of our mission and other important causes. They are committed to a variety of philanthropic e­fforts, both locally and globally. Locally, the Wolf’s have been champions for the Orlando Museum of Art, Planned Parenthood of Greater Orlando, and the University of Central Florida. On an international scale, Jonathan and Nancy created a partnership between UCF and The American University in Cairo paving the way for a reciprocal study abroad program, the Nancy and Jonathan Wolf Global Academic Initiative. Through their corporation, Wendover Housing Partners, Jonathan and Nancy are leading the e­ffort to ensure that access to safe, secure, affordable housing is a right for all, including the most vulnerable populations – children, seniors and the homeless.



2024 White Rose Tribute Event


Dr. Joel Hunter and Judy Albertson 


Michelle Feinberg

Laurie Levin

Hali Poteshman

Rick Schell



Sean Shecter

Kathy Turner

Taylor Warner-Valdez

Paula Wyatt


Supporter Circles

Circle of Valor

Founder, Tess Wise
Alexis & Jim Pugh
Dottie & Dick Appelbaum
Valeria & Jim Shapiro

Sy & Debra Israel

Jim & Alexis Pugh

Dick & Dottie Appelbaum

Jim & Val Shapiro

The Abe & Tess Wise Philanthropic Fund

Circle of Hope

Bickley Wilson
Bruce K. Gould Foundation
Caryn & Mark Israel


Marilyn Goldman

Nemours Children’s Health 

Austin Commercial

Dick & Louise Weiner

David & Judith Albertson


Orlando Health

Jan & Randy Ellington

Bruce K. Gould Foundation

Ginsburg Family Foundation

Losey PLLC/Karen Middlekauff and Daniel Minkow

Circle of Resilience

Austin Commercial
Brasfield & Gorrie

Winston & Charlotte Schwartz

Jeffrey B. Friedman 

Bounds Law Group

Massey Services

Universal Orlando

Burr & Forman, LLP

Rick Schell & Scott Joseph

Meitin Family Partnership

Feinberg/Morgan Stanley

Publix Super Markets Charities

Weinberg Wheeler Hudgins Gunn & Dial

Jerry & Susan Roth

Florida Blue

Jeff Miller

Circle of Courage

Climate First Bank

Mark & Laura Abramson

Mike & Hali Poteshman

John & Katie Lehr

American Momentum Bank

Susie & Ed Kleiman

Rev. Dr. Joel & Becky Hunter 

Roy & Patricia Ambinder

Brasfield & Gorrie

UCF College of Arts and Humanities

Hunton Brady Architects

Sol Schick

Orlando Magic

Chris McCullion & Carlos Carbonell

Ellen & Mark Lang

Simon & Ellen Snyder

Kubicki Draper

Tess Wise White Rose Honorees

2023 Tony Jenkins, Central Florida Market President, Florida Blue

2022 Dr. Rita Bornstein
2021 The Massey Family
2020 Mayor Jerry L. Demings
2019 Joanie Holzer Schirm
2018 Jeffrey Miller & Ted Maines
2017 Mayor Buddy Dyer
2016 Valeria & Jim Shapiro
2015 Susan & Gordon Arkin
2014 Harris Rosen
2013 Helen Greenspun
2012 Dr. Richard Lapchick
2011 Dr. Ron Blocker
2010 Governor Bob Graham
2009 Rita and John Lowndes
2008 Alexis and Jim Pugh
2007 Harriett and Hy Lake

2006 Tess and Abe Wise
2005 Marilyn & Sig Goldman
2004 Suntrust Bank, Central Florida
2003 Judy Albertson
2002 Joe R. Lee, CEO, Darden Restaurants
2001 Elie Wiesel, Nobel Laureate
2000 20 yr. Anniversary Celebration – Dreamers
1999 Holland & Knight Charitable Foundation
1998 Survivors
1997 Henri Landwirth/Give Kids The World
1996 Tom Werner, President, Florida Hospital
1995 University of Central Florida
1994 Junior League of Greater Orlando
1993 Linda Chapin, Chairman, Orange County Commission
1992 Scholars
1991 Dr. Schott, Superintendent, Orange County Public Schools
1990 Dr. Gianini, President, Valencia Community College
1989 Charlie Reese, Orlando Sentinel

2023 White Rose Tribute Event
Heroes Helping Communities