View the White Rose Tribute Event Digital Program Booklet


A Legacy of Leadership

Tess Wise White Rose Award 
Honoree Dr. Rita Bornstein

Bidding Still Live!

History of The White Rose

The White Rose Award reminds us of the actions of a group of courageous students in Germany during WWII. Calling for non-violent resistance against Hitler and the Nazis, the group consisted of  five students in their early twenties led by Hans and Sophie Scholl. They worked day and night to create  flyers criticizing Germans who did nothing to combat the tyranny of the Third Reich. The individuals honored with this award by the Holocaust Center are active and vocal members of our community. Like The White Rose, it is their belief that only through participation can we build a better home for all Central Floridians. The values of inclusiveness and respect are central to their efforts.

About Dr. Rita Bornstein

White Rose Rita Bornstein

About the 2022 Tess Wise White Rose Award Honoree, Dr. Rita Bornstein:

As the thirteenth president and the first woman to hold that title, Rita Bornstein came to Rollins College in 1990. For the next fourteen years President Bornstein was also an author, teacher, and accomplished fundraiser. Under her leadership, Rollins focused on strengthening its commitment to excellence, innovation, and community. Dr. Bornstein oversaw Rollins’ most ambitious fundraising effort, widely considered to have transformed the College. As a true upstander in our community, Dr. Bornstein has served over the years as a board member of both local and national for profit and non-profit boards.

Today, we are honored to have her on our capital campaign committee for the future Holocaust Museum for Hope and Humanity. She is a dedicated and passionate champion of our mission and vision. Her unwavering support will help to ensure that future generations of students learn from the painful lessons of the Holocaust and serve as advocates for justice, democracy, and peace. Dr. Bornstein has supported her passion for the project with a significant financial gift.

Event Video, Press Release and Photos

White Rose Tribute Event 2022

2022 White Rose Tribute Event


Grant Cornwell, Peg Cornwell, and Linda Chapin


Lauren Grabell Allen
Laurie Levin
Carolyn McDowell
Lauren Nelson

Hali Poteshman
Josh Roth
Kathy Turner
Paula Wyatt

2022 Supporter Circles

Circle of Valor

Founder, Tess Wise
Alexis & Jim Pugh
Dottie & Dick Appelbaum
Valeria & Jim Shapiro

Circle of Hope

Bickley Wilson
Bruce K. Gould Foundation
Caryn & Mark Israel
Edyth Bush Charitable Foundation
Ginsburg Family Foundation
Henrietta & Marc Katzen
Jan & Randy Ellington/SmartWealth
Judy & Bob Yarmuth
Judy & David Albertson
Louise & Richard Weiner Family Foundation
Margie & Chuck Steinmetz
Massey Services
Nemours Children’s Health System
Orlando Health
Orlando Magic
OUC – The Reliable One
Rizwan Zaman
Sol Schick
The Law Office of Jeremiah D. Allen
Wolfe-Rizor Interiors

Circle of Resilience

Austin Commercial
Brasfield & Gorrie
Burr & Forman
Ellen & Mark Lang
Feinberg Feinberg Schelling Group at Morgan Stanley
Holland & Knight
Jeff Miller & Ted Maines
Jennifer & Phil Anderson
Marilyn Goldman
One Digital /Jason Chepenik
Publix Super Markets Charities
Rollins College
Susan & Jerry Roth
Turner Construction Company
UCF Foundation
Universal Orlando
Valencia College
Weinberg, Wheeler, Hudgins, Gunn & Dial

Circle of Courage

Barbara Weinreich
Bounds Law Group
Central Florida Foundation
Charlotte & Winston Schwartz
Chris McCullion & Carlos Carbonell
Daniel Pelli
Dr. Jeffrey B. Friedman
Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts
Dr. Rick Schell & Scott Joseph
Dr. Rita Bornstein
Drs. Lyn & Andy Kleiman
Elevation Financial Group
Ellen & Simon Snyder
First Horizon Foundation
Frank Santos
Friedman Family Fund
HuntonBrady Architects
Jill S. Schwartz & Associates, P.A.
Katie & John Lehr
Kubicki Draper
Laura & Mark Abramson
Linda Chapin
Lynn Minkow
Lyn & Dave Berelsman
Marilyn King
Nancy & Jonathan Wolf
Neil Webman
One Florida Bank
Patricia & Roy Ambinder
Randye & Jay Falk
Susan & Gordon Arkin
Susie & Ed Kleiman
The Mayflower
The Meitin Family
The Poteshman Family

Tess Wise White Rose Honorees

2021 The Massey Family
2020 Mayor Jerry L. Demings
2019 Joanie Holzer Schirm
2018 Jeffrey Miller & Ted Maines
2017 Mayor Buddy Dyer
2016 Valeria & Jim Shapiro
2015 Susan & Gordon Arkin
2014 Harris Rosen
2013 Helen Greenspun
2012 Dr. Richard Lapchick
2011 Dr. Ron Blocker
2010 Governor Bob Graham
2009 Rita and John Lowndes
2008 Alexis and Jim Pugh
2007 Harriett and Hy Lake
2006 Tess and Abe Wise
2005 Marilyn & Sig Goldman

2004 Suntrust Bank, Central Florida
2003 Judy Albertson
2002 Joe R. Lee, CEO, Darden Restaurants
2001 Elie Wiesel, Nobel Laureate
2000 20 yr. Anniversary Celebration – Dreamers
1999 Holland & Knight Charitable Foundation
1998 Survivors
1997 Henri Landwirth/Give Kids The World
1996 Tom Werner, President, Florida Hospital
1995 University of Central Florida
1994 Junior League of Greater Orlando
1993 Linda Chapin, Chairman, Orange County Commission
1992 Scholars
1991 Dr. Schott, Superintendent, Orange County Public Schools
1990 Dr. Gianini, President, Valencia Community College
1989 Charlie Reese, Orlando Sentinel

Generations of Generosity

White Rose Leadership